by emilysaysgo

This post comes in three parts. Here’s a table of contents, in case you get lost:

Part 1 – Being home
Part 2 – Blogging more?
Part 3 – Being thankful

-Part 1: Being Home-
I’ve been back in Renton for two weeks now, which means that I have one week left. I expected to be horrendously bored and restless being away from school, but it’s actually been really great. Today is the first day I’ve taken to sit at home and do nothing, because every other day so far has included something that meant I had to be somewhere, doing something, preferably awake and in clothes that at least don’t LOOK like pajamas. Today holds no such obligations.

There are definite benefits to being at home. For one thing, I always know where I’m going when I’m driving. Also, the food is better (even though I have to cook it myself), and laundry is free, and I have a bathroom that’s an actual room, rather than stalls. And, best of all, I really hadn’t realized how many people I’ve missed until I was here and got to see them, and it’s just made me realize how incredibly blessed I am. I’m psyched to go back to Highlands this Sunday for the first time since summer (except for the Christmas Eve service), and to hear all about winter camp (because seeing the church buses go places without me is like the weirdest feeling ever).

-Part 2: Blogging More-
I might. There’s a lot of stuff in my head, and that’s really the only reason. We’ll see.

-Part 3: Being Thankful-
As mentioned, being home has reminded me exactly how many awesome people I’ve been blessed to have in my life. I was already really grateful just thinking about how wonderful the people I’ve met at school are, and then I came home and discovered I know more wonderful people than I’d ever realized or will ever deserve. So here are some notes to a few of them (not all- don’t feel bad if you’re not on here. There’s a chance you’re still my friend):

Anna Wilke. You are awesome. Your faith is amazing, and I appreciate your sense of humor and your loyalty so, so much. You’re a fantastic friend, and I’m so glad you put up with psychology spring quarter because otherwise we wouldn’t have this magical friendship. 🙂

Sammie Taylor. This might be weird, but one of the reasons I love our friendship is that I can never feel useless after a talk with you. I don’t know how much I actually help you, but I know you appreciate that I try, and I’ve loved watching you grow these last couple of years. You have an amazing future to look forward to.

Ally MacEwan. We have an unlikely friendship. I think we can all agree on that. But you have been a consistent friend, a fantastic example and one of the biggest influences in my life over the last six (!) years. I love that I can always count on you for a listening ear and solid advice, and I can’t wait to see what God does next in your life.

Colleen Johns. So, since this is one of the very rare periods in which we are actually in the same town (well, not at this exact moment, but you know what I mean), I have to say I’m surprised. I’m surprised that a friendship that works so well using only Facebook chat and texting can actually work in real life too, but it always does. I love that you get me, no matter how crazy I am (which is to say, very), and like you said the other day, in a weird way, you have to know both of us if you really want to know either of us. You’re pretty much my other half.

Brittany Weaver. You are too amazing. I love you so much, and I’ve loved that we get the chance to be roommates and share our lives in a whole new way this year. You make me laugh like no one else can, and I can honestly say I’ve been thanking God for the blessing of our friendship. Thanks for being such a wonderful sister. 🙂

Sadly, that’s all I have time for. Many more of you deserve my thanks for making 2009 so great (including but not limited to: Tim Maison, Ethan Knudson, Sarah Schmidt, Adam Yeaton and tons from Multnomah- listing everyone from school would take millenia), and I’ll try to do that too, soon.

My 2009 was amazing, and I’m looking forward to 2010 being even better. I’m ready to attack spring semester and suck the marrow out of life, and I hope you’re all there to share it with me.

