blog often in april? maybe.

by emilysaysgo

The LORD is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?
-Psalm 27:1

Last night it struck me that I’m really glad I’ve had terrible things happen to me. I’ve known sorrow, loss, joy and grace, and I am still here.

I am unbreakable. I am unbreakable through no achievement of my own, but because the backbone of my life is Christ, the One who was broken for me. Sin no longer has power to condemn me to hell. Man no longer has power to starve me of love. With the prospect of heaven always in front of me, how bad can things be? My God loves me, and nothing can take that away. No power of hell, no scheme of man.

There are those who can be broken. I was once one of them. On my own I am still one of them: fragile, frightened and friendless. Christ broke His body and my soul was saved, and what was once impossible is now daily occurrence.

My God is wonderful, powerful, merciful and gracious. Today we celebrate the fact that we can live because He died. Have a blessed Good Friday, everyone.

